still alive!

I must begin by apologizing for the hiatus.

You see, I had to eat lunch with a hobo and go to a church story hour and order a calendar.

And then the Internet provider in our BOOMING METROPOLIS that we moved to (which enjoys a stoplight AND a Chinese restaurant, thank you.) was just TOO BUSY to make it out to our apartment for a fortnight, apparently.

So … it’s been stressful, you see.

But that means we have A) made it to Iowa and B) found a place that does not require vaccinations before entry and C) are now once again part of the wired world.  YOU MISSED ME.

There have been challenges, oh yes.  For example, we do not have any closets in our tetanus-free quarters.

……

You heard me.

But there have been triumphs as well.  Including my ability to not make a complete arse of myself in my first complete week as a member of my profession.  Maybe not completely accurate–the photo that ran with the article introducing me depicted me with a stroke mouth … but what can you do.

We are adjusting to this new life fairly smoothly, do not fret.  While six months ago I would never have believed I would be back in the area I just spent my 3.5 years of undergrad in,  I must say it’s nice to be back.  There’s a certain sense of safety in what you know, of course.  And I know corn, apparently.

So we are here, we are safe, and we are happy—including Toona, who unfortunately spent half of the journey straddling a water bottle and bemoaning his fate at traveling in A’s unconditioned vehicle.

Now, if our landlord would just deliver us some damn garbage bags ….


3 thoughts on “still alive!

  1. Mom July 21, 2011 / 8:14 am

    You are alive and haven’t lost your touch at writing a fine article. Take Bairloch up on the offer. He has fine furniture and the clearance stuff is very reasonable!

  2. Jessica Schiermeister July 20, 2011 / 9:57 am

    That paper has never been known for their great photography. Glad you’re adjusting well!

  3. bairloch July 19, 2011 / 10:20 pm

    i’m sure we can sell you an armoire. 😛 i’ll look in the clearance center.

Leave a Reply

