MICROWAVE I LOVE YOU.

As previously mentioned, our landlord is a little … squirrely.

We moved into our apartment two weeks ago, and I have still not met this man.

As I have yet to make him my dear pal, that also means our water filter still shoots halfway across the kitchen during every use and I slide gracefully into the hallway every time I sit on the wobbly toilet seat.

Also, we do not have functioning outlets.

see it? up there? ABOVE the sink? USEFUL.

Unbeknowst to me until we moved, we are a strictly three-prong family. The apartment we moved into is a bit … historic, and therefore is TWO PRONG CITY.

Through some hysterical luck, we managed to get the TV and Xbox hooked up (IMMEDIATELY, mind you) through a life saving two prong power strip that was presumably planted into our boxes by Jesus himself.

Along with our predicament just being DAMN ANNOYING, a two-prong household is also apparently a death trap.

As A is ever the optimist, I heard him muttering to himself while stringing up our labyrinth of electrical cords for the all important TV.

“Well, I hope this doesn’t kill us,” he announced, deadpan.

…………

As we only received one heaven sent power strip, several of our appliances are still lying dormant. I must say I miss the coffemaker, but the real killer is …

THE MICROWAVE.

THose who have had to put up with me for most of my life know how attached I am to the microwave. One beloved anecdote of my family stems from the summer our microwave died. It may or may not have finally given up due to me putting a few too many metal objects in it, but that’s not the point of the story.

It was lunchtime. I was but a teen and my older, wiser, kitchen-capable brother was still snoozing.

Therefore, I did what any other logical person would do.

I stood at the base of the stairs … and WHINED.

“Make me luunnnnnch!”

“Ugh. Go away. Make it yourself,” came the charitable reply.

“But I CAAAAAAAAN’T!” I whinnied.

That day, I made myself some taco dip and waited a few more days for our shiny new ‘wave to arrive. It was a beautiful reunion.

But nowadays, I am proud to report that has all changed.

I am DOMESTIC!

I am KNOWLEDGABLE!

I am RESOURCEFUL!

in an EGG PAN no less!

Well, at least we were able to find a place for our nightlight ….

thanks to the rockin-est brother and sister around!
5 thoughts on “MICROWAVE I LOVE YOU.

  1. domesticait August 2, 2011 / 8:48 pm

    clock? so, you have a clock dangling over the sink? and it’s swinging so you can’t tell the time? i am confused by the clock outlet. clock-let.

    egg pan, however? not confusing. you’re an honor student.

  2. bairloch July 25, 2011 / 8:25 pm

    p.s. what’s an egg pan?

  3. bairloch July 25, 2011 / 8:24 pm

    The high outlet is for a clock. It is very useful.

  4. Mom July 25, 2011 / 8:27 am

    I think that is why your brothers coined the phrase “hypersonic mule whining”, isn’t it?
    They do make adapters, just to let you know. and there is a hardware store rather close, is it not?

Leave a Reply

