a gift of hope

I called the greenhouse in the town I went to high school in and have many precious memories from, today to send flowers to the viewing of my friend’s father, who died unexpectedly last Friday.

As I am several hours away and unable to leave work, I wanted to do SOMETHING to contribute to this wonderful family that helped me when I first moved to town and continued to be a lovely acquaintance throughout my years in high school.

However, something peculiar happened when I went to request an arrangement: the greenhouse said no.

The sheer volume of flowers that had been delivered was overwhelming for the family, and the greenhouse manager suggested refraining from adding mine to the pile.

At first I was a little put out and dumbfounded that they would not take my money.  But then A and I decided to preserve his memory in a sustainable way, so the impact he had as a community leader would be felt across the globe.

If you have not heard of Heifer International, it is a unique charity where anyone can purchase livestock or plant life, or a share of either, and they are delivered to a country in need.  The charity believes that providing a hands-on way out of poverty is much more effective than tossing money at a problem.

I am proud to say that A and I bought a flock of chicks in memory of this man, in the hope that the positive impact he had on his community and beautiful family would be absorbed by those less fortunate.  The end of his life would provide a new beginning for someone else.

Visit the charity’s website to learn more and consider a unique type of gift or memorial the next time you get the chance.

Thinking of you:  M,K,D,M,S,J,P.  Be well.

3 thoughts on “a gift of hope

  1. Mom January 23, 2012 / 9:39 am

    You continue to make me very proud.

  2. pat leitzen fye January 20, 2012 / 11:40 am

    Lovely, Cait. We’ve been proud supporters of Heifer for quite some time, having given gifts of ducks, rabbits, chickens, etc. as Christmas and other gifts. What a great idea instead of flowers at a funeral-may I steal it?

    Love to you dad & mom and sorry for their loss ~

    • domesticait January 20, 2012 / 1:19 pm

      you can most definitely steal it! this is our first donation to Heifer, but we have loved the idea of the charity for a long time … I think Nick introduced us to it? we are thrilled to be able to make a donation in his memory, and hopefully this encourages us and others to consider charities as opposed to STUFF for gift-giving occasions.

      hope you are recovering well; it is such a delight to hear from you.

      and thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

