burying my e-book phobia

As a newspaperwoman (?), I feel constantly threatened by the seemingly inevitable extinction of the written word.

“WHAT DO YOU MEAN YOU TWITTED MY STORY?  WHY DIDN’T YOU CLIP IT OUT AND HANG IT ON YOUR REFRIGERATORRRR?”

While I was still an undergrad, my father liked to spark a lively debate with me about how I was entering a field that was dying at the feet of the INTERNET-OSAURUS.

So, it may surprise you to know we bought a Kindle last fall, although I endured years of complex internal debates on the topic.  I blame it on the nuttiness of Black Friday shopping …. standing in the wrong line at Best Buy for 57 minutes next to twitchy man babies clutching $1.99 seasons of “Xena Warrior Princess” and trying to distract myself with something … LOOK KINDLES ARE ON SALE.

Of course, A had done the research and determined it was a solid purchase, so I walked out with one that night/morning.

Since then, I have enjoyed playing the free games available at the Kindle store and reading the free books from the Gutenberg project (an effort to make classics that have lived past copyright law available at no cost), and borrowing titles from the NEIBORS project, an online lending library … for free.

Even though A got me an Amazon gift card for Christmas to fill up Mr. Kindle with tons of titles, I cannot bring myself to spend a dime of it, for a few reasons:

1. SO MUCH FREE STUFF.

2. What kind of book would I want on a Kindle?  A big one, like “The Autobiography of Mark Twain”?  Or a favorite I’ve already read?  Some books, like cookbooks or guides that have useful photos or could get messy, I feel should be saved for physical book form.  And some I love the idea of having it on my shelf and  being able to dog ear pages and appreciate its heft and type.  I cannot decide what kind of book would be most appropriate in E-form.

Did I make a mistake  buying an e-reader?  Am I overthinking this?  Is it ridiculous to buy an electronic version for the convenience and a print version for nostalgia?  Should I give in to INTERNET-OSAURUS?

Thoughts?

2 thoughts on “burying my e-book phobia

  1. bairloch January 31, 2012 / 11:23 pm

    Books are my preference, but I keep dozens in my phone for reading on the go. Much easier and safer for the books.

  2. Mom January 31, 2012 / 12:52 pm

    You need to talk to your brothers. Nick has one and Eric has a Nook. See what their thoughts are. Myself, still really attached to the physical feel of a book and turning pages but then again, I am OLD.

Leave a Reply

