still working on, “what I want to be when I grow up”

So, I know about a year ago I was whining about my job, until I got the job that actually was relevant to my degree.  And then it was:

EATING CHOCOLATE SPRINKLE DONUTS SPEARED FROM THE HORN OF A UNICORN!

But the weeks and months went by, and soon I was back on the job search again.  As I know it is dangerous to talk about the actual reasons for looking for a new job in a public forum, all I will say is I have a fondness for the English language, so felt I should move on.

But I must say there were times I enjoyed working in journalism, and hope this is not the last time I get to be in the field.  Satisfying my natural curiosity and nosiness for a job could be fun, and it felt good when people said I helped them understand something, or brought something to their attention that generated conversation or action.

And on my last day reporting, I got to do this:

sorry mom.

Attempting to find a job in journalism, as you may remember from my blubbering last year, is difficult.  Like, a one-legged man in an ass kicking contest, difficult.  And finding a journalism job in Iowa is like putting that same man on the moon … the floating, you understand. 

So even though I had a job in the career I studied for three and a half years in order to get, I am leaving that job. 

(ducks the hailstorm of rotten fruit from fellow, unluckier recent graduates)

But, since I needed to feel proud of what I was doing, I decided to start looking elsewhere for employment.  I will now be working for the United Way, and feel very happy with this decision. 

And hope to stay that way for a while. 

Plus, I get an office.  weee!

One thought on “still working on, “what I want to be when I grow up”

  1. Mom May 7, 2012 / 2:38 pm

    Dammit Kid!

Leave a Reply

