THANKSGIVING! I LOVE YOU!

I know today is the birthday of two of my favorite pups, both my brother and the Beef, but I can’t seem to write anything on the appropriate day–so stay tuned for that post next week.  You must be tingling now, right?

Anyway–on with the old news!  I made a mini-Thanksgiving dinner for A and myself on Sunday night, and it was not a complete disaster.

In fact, it wasn’t a disaster at all.

*crickets*

Should I leave now?

But seriously, I feel like I am inching closer to my domesticait-ion every year.  I decided to make a mini Turkey day for two reasons:

  • for personal growth, to gauge my impressive progress at being a traditional lady
  • YAMS AND GRAVY I LOVE YOU SOOO MUCH!  AND GREEN BEAN CASSEROLE AND CRANBERRY SAUCE WITH CAN LINES?  COME CLOSER FOR A GROUP HUGGGG

So when I was meandering down the aisles of our stuck-in-the-50s grocery store and saw all of the Thanksgiving items for sale, I COULD NOT STOP MYSELF.

When I got home from the grocery store that night, A observantly commented, “Aren’t we going to your parents’ for the dinner this year?”

And I eloquently replied, “I LOVE THANKSGIVING.”

So, it was decided that we would have a tiny dinner for ourselves on the Sunday before the big event, complete with:

  • turkey breast
  • wild rice
  • yam (singular, because the princess does not like them)
  • green bean casserole
  • cranberry sauce with can lines (the specificity of this dish is very important)
  • spiced apple cider
  • pumpkin and egg nog cheesecake trifle

To prepare for this event,  I listened to the Martha Stewart radio station–which gave me the indispensable tips of:

  • NEVER put the stuffing inside the bird, unless you want to invoke bio terrorism
  • NEVER put a cold bird into the oven … thaw in the fridge and bring to room temperature for a maximum of two hours
  • make sure the gravy is extra hot, because hot gravy over everything on your plate will mask the luke-warm-ness of the rest of the meal

Beautiful advice.

So I put the turkey in first, and made sure my meat thermometer (which I actually own … I am amazed too) was readily at hand.

I made the trifle (my made-up recipe is below, you lucky dogs) while the turkey was cooking, to ensure perfect timing for the rest of the meal.

I splooped the cranberry sauce into a bowl and put in the fridge to chill.

When the turkey was nearing the ideal temperature, I started the green beans and rice.

Things got a little dicey when the “aromatics” (or the junk at the bottom of the pan) got a little “browned”, but they were eventually made into a flavorful gravy.

And lo and behold, the strategy of following directions and using common sense reigned supreme.  Not that I will continue to rely on those methods, but it worked for the all-important Thanksgiving dinner.

I can’t help but get a little choked up thinking about that dinner, and how proud I am that I successfully made a feast that did not kill us all.  Only two years ago I was pawing through a box of dry Frosted Flakes in my dorm room.

And for this continuing journey–I am thankful.

*****************************************************************************************

did you know you can freeze nog for up to a year? then it looks like this when you try to bake with it and you, in turn, look like a crazy person. still g-damn delicious, however.

Here is my made-up recipe for the Pumpkin and Egg Nog Cheesecake Trifle that I made for our Thanksgiving feast for two.  There is still a lot in my refrig if you are interested.

Ingredients

  • 1-15 oz. can of pumpkin
  • Assorted holiday spices (cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, etc.)
  • 2-3.5 oz. boxes of instant pudding (I used cheesecake flavor, but vanilla would probably also be delightful)
  • 4 cups of egg nog
  • one sleeve of graham crackers at least (have more at hand if you like)
  • one large serving bowl
  • mortar and pestle/rolling pin/preferred instrument for smashing

Directions

  • Smash graham crackers and line the bottom of the serving bowl for the first layer of the trifle.  Set aside.
  • Prepare the instant pudding.  To make it “egg nog-flavored” I replaced the two cups of milk that the each box of pudding called for with egg nog.  For those of you that hate America and would prefer not to use egg nog, replace at will.
  • Layer the instant pudding over the graham crackers.
  • Spice up the canned pumpkin with your preferred holiday spices, to taste.
  • Smooth the pumpkin over the instant pudding layer.
  • Repeat the layers of graham crackers, pudding and pumpkin until the bowl doth overfloweth.
  • Sprinkle the remaining grahams on the top, for a splendid presentation.
  • Chill in the fridge while you whip up the rest of your impressive feast.
  • Spoon an unreasonable helping into a bowl for all of your favorites and gorge yourself.

Happy Thanksgiving, dear readers.  I am thankful for you!

One thought on “THANKSGIVING! I LOVE YOU!

  1. Mom November 21, 2012 / 8:07 am

    I am verflempt. My little girl….

Leave a Reply

