Day One: My life is usually not steeped in this much obvious symbolism but …

Today, I packed everything up, loaded a 10-foot U-Haul and started driving to my new life in California.

Today, I officially filed for divorce.

And, if you’re keeping score at home, today is indeed Valentine’s Day.

So while I have had my share of weird Valentine’s Days, this may be the oddest yet.

I am currently lying in bed with Beef, Chop and Tuna, in a hotel room in Lincoln, Neb.  We are safe.  We are content.  We are snoozy.  I only completed 4-ish hours today instead of the scheduled 7-ish, for the following reasons:

  1. Moving by yourself is a real bitch.  And it takes forever.
  2. U-Hauls travel at the approximate speed of a drugged manatee.
  3. Global warming is real and so aforementioned U-Haul got hopelessly stuck in the mud of the farm’s driveway.
truck
UPDATE: still really good at driving.

So the first leg of the trip is unexpectedly shorter than the others, but we will strap on a peg leg and keep going.  The goal for tomorrow is to make it to Colorado and stay on track.  I still want to get to my new home, Salinas, Calif., on Friday — and then spend the entire weekend comatose on the beach (when I’m not buying a car and moving into my apartment and buying a shower curtain and other adult things).

Similarly to my previous post, I find myself in need of thanking a boatload of people today, as it takes a damn village to keep me functioning:

-To my former neighbor, who came over almost immediately to tow my U-Haul out of the mud so I could actually start my trip, albeit 5 hours behind schedule.  This is normal for these neighbors, who always came to the rescue.  Thank you.

-To the Enterprise Rent-a-Car guy, who went way beyond his job description because he apparently could sense that I am a human disaster.  From dispensing platitudes left and right about my fresh start (“You’re better off!  You’re going to do great!  The beach is just what you need!”) to hanging around at the U-Haul place to make sure I got one reserved, and that the mirrors were correctly positioned, and that I got out of the parking lot okay — seriously unbelievable customer service.  So good in fact that I forgot to be indignant about a man helping me because I CAN TAKE CARE OF MYSELF.  So Enterprise Guy,  thank you.

-To my dearest MF, who suggested I buy this thing that squeezes into your car’s vent so you can mount you phone on it.  Seriously life-changing invention that I only knew existed for 24 hours.  You are amazing and take such good care of me.  Thank you, lady.

-To my co-worker, who not only joined me for lunch even though I looked like a hobo, but also helped me take care of the piddly errands that I should have done days ago … taking stuff to the charity shop, going to the food bank, donating magazines to the library, etc.  I really needed your help today — thank you.

-To everyone who reached out to this spinster on Valentine’s Day/the first day of my trip.  Each and every one of you makes me feel so special and remembered.  It matters.  Thank you so much.

Goodnight from Nebraska!  Until tomorrow.

-c

5 thoughts on “Day One: My life is usually not steeped in this much obvious symbolism but …

  1. Judy Delperdang February 15, 2017 / 9:03 am

    Once you make it past Grand Island, you’re golden. Oh, and the beach is a worthy destination.

  2. Kristian February 15, 2017 / 8:12 am

    You know you’re going to get in trouble with Lynnde for that Manatee crack… 🙂

  3. Mom February 15, 2017 / 8:11 am

    And a big thank you to your big brother because he knows why.

    • Kristian February 15, 2017 / 8:12 am

      must be one of the other big brothers… ’cause this one’s clueless.

Leave a Reply

