February 17, 2017

Closeup calendar page with drawing-pins

Both in the life I was supposed to have, and the life I’m living, February 17 was a big day.

I was supposed to be returning from my honeymoon — a honeymoon delayed by 5 years and that we had been saving up for over the last 7 years.  It was a milestone: we had finally achieved a time in our life when we could financially afford this big trip.  And we had been at our jobs long enough to earn a nice block of vacation time.  And we were in love.

What actually happened was I rolled in to a place that was undergoing an intense winter storm season.  There was evidence of the disaster everywhere.  We had that in common.

I was supposed to arrive home glowing with the bliss of a tropical honeymoon.  Instead I arrived “home” by myself, tired and messy.

I was supposed to be celebrating 5 years of marriage.  Instead I was “celebrating” 4 months and 1 day of separation.

I was supposed to be exhausted by jet lag.  Instead I was exhausted by the relentless trudge of starting over.

I wonder how long it will take to divorce the life I was supposed to have and the life I’m living.

 

One thought on “February 17, 2017

  1. Mom March 4, 2017 / 8:14 am

    As I am sure many people have told you, you are one of the strongest, capable, tenacious, independent, loving, caring women that I know. You will get through this. You have wonderful friends, your family and of course your pets. I always hated being called capable, made me feel school marmy, but it will get you through a lot of crap. Just remember we are always here for you.

Leave a Reply

